Top Ten Favourite Fictional Heroines

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is a good one, guys! It’s your top ten favourite fictional heroines, from books, TV or film — whatever you want. *rubs hands* I can work with that.

I decided to only choose heroines from books, but there was one TV character I just couldn’t leave out… Anyway, here we go! (As always, these are in no particular order)

1. Cinder Linh (from The Lunar Chronicles)

I recently read Cinder (review on Thursday!) and I adored her! Cinder is a cyborg, which basically means she’s at the bottom of the (metaphorical) food chain. She’s such a cool person, though, and I loved her witty comments. Can’t wait to read Scarlet, the second novel in the series — I ordered it a few days ago so with a bit of luck it arrives next week!

2. Hermione Granger (from the Harry Potter series)

Does this really need any explanation? Hermione is one of my all time favourite characters. Also, without her, Harry would’ve gotten himself killed by the end of the Philosopher’s Stone.

3. Cath Avery (from Fangirl)

I just relate to Cath on so many levels, that she couldn’t not make this list. She’s got terrible anxiety, which prevents her from doing so many things she wants. Besides that, however, she also just doesn’t want to do a lot of things her peers like to do. Here’s my review of Fangirl, in which I talk a bit more about why I love Cath so much.

4. Matilda (from … Matilda)

This shouldn’t come as a surprise… Matilda might just be the book I’ve talked about most on this blog. It was my favourite book when I was little, and it remains one of my favourites to this day. In fact, I might just do a reread soon and write a blog post about it. Also, the film adaptation is positively wonderful.

5. Elizabeth Bennett (from Pride and Prejudice)

I mean, come on. She’s one of the most loved fictional characters in English literature for a reason, right? While she’s incredibly stubborn, she does show us all how it’s done. Her intelligence and wittiness and amazingness are, well, amazing!

6. Bridget Jones (from Bridget Jones’ Diary)

To stay in the vein of Pride and Prejudice, let’s talk about Bridget Jones. Although nothing much needs to be said, I think. Admittedly, I watched the films before I read the books, and I think I mainly adore the film-Bridget (I should really reread the books, though). She’s just so perfectly imperfect, I love it. She never fails to cheer me up!

7. Liesel Meminger (from The Book Thief)

Liesel is the protagonist of the heartbreaking book by Markus Zusak, The Book Thief. She goes through so much, and I was just broken inside after finishing this book. It’s quite magical to read about Liesel’s growing passion for books, and we can of course all relate to that!

8. Katniss Everdeen (from The Hunger Games trilogy)

I think this one’s on the same level as Hermione on the “doesn’t need explaning” scale. I don’t love her as much as Hermione, but she’s an amazing character. There were times throughout the books that I was so frustrated with her, but in the end, I just have the greatest respect for her. Plus, she’s awesome.

9. Vianne Rocher (from the Chocolat series)

What this woman can do with chocolate…! I would love to get a workshop or two from her. She also has this air of calmness about her, I feel. I would just love to visit her little shop in Lansquenet or Paris or wherever she’d be living at that moment.

10. Rory Gilmore (from Gilmore Girls)

Yep, this is the odd one out. Although in my eyes Rory does qualify as a bookish heroine. I love Gilmore Girls, and while I adore Lorelai as well, I think Rory is a more appropriate candidate for this top 10. She’s amazing.

And that’s it for my top ten! Are there any of these that would be in yours as well? Or am I missing someone important? Let me know!

 

Advertisements

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Fictional Heroines

  1. I chose Hermione and Cinder as well, both really amazing women in my opinion! And Rory! I’ve only ever watched until like the middle of season 5, I should really finish the series once.

    Your list is really filled with incredible characters 🙂

  2. I love so many of these characters! Especially Hermione, Elizabeth Bennett, and Matilda! It’s been years since I read it, but it was my favorite as a kid. I love Cinder as well, she’s such a great character! And Vianne!! I haven’t read the book but I adore the movie.

    • I haven’t read Matilda in a while either, but I got a beautiful English edition for my birthday last year, so I’m definitely going to reread it soon! It was my favourite as well.
      The movie is so great! I love Juliette Binoche as Vianne 🙂

  3. Haha Bridget Jones is a cool pick 🙂 She’s so human!
    And you’ve reminded me that I haven’t watched Chocolat for too long, it’s such a great movie. It’s also one of the reasons I’ve dreamt of opening my own chocolate shop 😉

  4. Pingback: Monthly Recap – February 2015 | Books Baking and Blogging

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s